In the spirit of trying new things and filing a pretty unbelieveable amount of free-time, I’ve decided that I’m going to try one new recipe a week. In addition to having the time for this, I’ve become unbelievably bored with cooking what seems to be the same thing all the time.  I’m looking forward to trying some challenging things.

Part of the problem with my cooking rut stems from the simple fact that I never really know what I’m in the mood for. I love trying new recipes, but finding them can be the problem.

For awhile now I’ve been pretty anti-cookbook. Instead I’ve located recipes I want to try, printed them out or clipped them from my subscriptions to bon appetite and gourmet and placed them in plastic sleeves in a big three ring binder. This came in handy when it was time to pack up the kitchen, as I only had a few actual cookbooks to bring with me, certainly not enough to justify getting rid of any. I have a hard time parting with books, and I know I would have had that annoying voice in the back of my head lamenting all the recipes in the book that would never be tried.

I’ve decided there is certainly room for one more, especially if I’m going to be trying so many new things. I’ve decided to go with “Gourmet Today“. I’ve been eyeing it for a bit, trying to decide if my kitchen needs a big clunky book when my binders have worked so nicely. The answer is yes. I’m hoping this will really help me get out of my dinner slump.  So amazon is sending it my way!

With over 1000 recipes I’m  sure I’ll be able to really challenge myself. At best I’ll add a few new favorites. At worst I’ll throw my hands up in disgust and not move it. A win-win really.

