I’m not really a coffee drinker, but unfortunately I can’t say that I’m not a slave to caffeine.  I do so love my soda. Sure, it’s blamed as a major cause of America’s problems with obesity, but man does it taste good.

Over the years I’ve toned down my bad habits. My 42 oz a day Mountain Dew habit (shockingly I didn’t have a cavity until I was 23)  has calmed down significantly to a 12 oz  Coke or Dr. Pepper  a day.  I’d like to keep all of my teeth into my old age, thank-you-very-much.

Part of the “evils” of soda, is of course, the high fructose corn syrup. So I was thrilled when Pepsi came out with their “throwback” Pepsi and Mountain Dew, sweetened with ACTUAL sugar, not the corn syrup! Joy! Soda with less guilt! I enjoyed it while it lasted and mourned a little bit when I could not longer get the sweet old fashioned Mountain Dew.

But yesterday my little heart went a flutter when what did I see in the aisles at Safeway?? THROWBACK DR. PEPPER (which they are calling retro Dr. Pepper, but whatever)!! I almost burst into song (which would have been miserable for everyone around, trust me).

A 12 pack immediately jumped into the cart and followed me home.

And here is where the cosmos align and I can gently pat myself on the back. I’m currently reading “The Omnivore’s Dilemma“. Each morning on the BART, and during my lunch break, and in the nice little lulls in my evening, I’m reading about how absurd and scary the origins of our food are. How the modern American (if we truly are what we eat) is a walking corn kernel doused in petroleum for good measure. Even despite the fact that I try and RARELY eat convenience food, and I like to believe that I make good/informed choices at the grocery store and farmers market, in the end I’m not as well informed as I should be. So I’m attempting to change that. But certain things are hard to give up. In-n-Out Burger, I’m looking at you.

I went home and cozied up on the couch with my kindle (man, that doesn’t have the same ring to it as cozying up with a book, does it?) and read how high fructose corn syrup is in pretty much everything we ingest.  I sipped my retro Dr. Pepper, pleased with the fact that at least until the limited run of this stuff is up, I can pretend that soda isn’t the devil.

And I should add, it tastes 20 times better than regular Dr. Pepper, as do all sodas made with actual sugar. For a more professional tastereview, check out what bevreview.com had to say. If you need me I’ll be scouring my food labels for amylopectin, cyclodextrin, dextri- maltose and sorbitol.

