I’ve been doing swimmingly with my one new recipe a week rule, even being a bit of an overachiever (Okay, it’s only the third week of the year, so I’m not getting too confident yet). This week I was craving rich food and tastes. It might have been the damp and chilly weather, or the stressful work week, but I wanted something filling.

The first new recipe is one that I’ve been meaning to try for a few weeks. I have a habit of buying ingredients and cooking around them, as was the case with this.  When I was home over Christmas I discovered a shop, Vom Fass.  This place is a little slice of heaven. The oils! The Vinegars! The Liqueurs! The gorgeous bottles you can choose to put them in!  I could have spent days tasting the incredible things they have to offer. There were months worth of new recipes and exciting flavors that could come from this place.  As I was pressed for space in my suitcase I decided to be responsible and only picked a small bottle of truffle infused olive oil.

I wasn’t sure exactly what I would use it for, but truffle oil goes with everything so I knew I could find a million uses for it. Convieniently enough, the man working at the store attached a recipe card to my bottle.

Roasted Potatoes with Truffle Oil. Sold. I’m happy to report that it was as good as it was simple. The truffle oil added a fantastic depth to the potatoes.

8 Red Potatoes

1/4 Cup Olive Oil

1/4 Cup Grated Parmesean

2 Tbls. Truffle Oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

Quarter the potatoes, toss with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast at 425 for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and toss with truffle oil.  Allow to cool and serve with Parmesean.

Potatoes Pre-Roasting

What else could one want on a crappy rainy day? MEAT!

I found a recipe that looked and tasted amazing over at epicurious.com, Beef Tenderloin with Garlic Horseradish Cream.

This was DELICIOUS- Although I should mention that I cut the Oregano and Beef bouillion.  The tenderloin had a lovely peppery crust.  It was perfectly juicy and flavorful.  I would make this a lot, if the meat weren’t so pricey (although I’m sure it didn’t help that I got it at whole foods).

Yep, I like it rare

Overall this weeks new recipes….Success. Both will make future appearances on my table.

