I should have known that I would jinx myself.

The moment I go on and on about my kindle, the unthinkable happens….It breaks.

It should be noted that this isn’t my fault. You see I was hit by a truck. No, you actually did read that correctly. I was talking on the phone to my mother, innocently crossing the street, and a truck hit me.

I’m fine. Let me repeat that. I. AM. FINE. I am 100% ok. No trauma, no cuts no bruises.

But yes, I was hit by a truck.

Ahh, the joys of San Francisco drivers.

On the upside, several people did pull over to make sure the situation was under control.

I think I handled it well (is there etiquette for something like this?) as far as I was concerned no injuries made it a non event so I sent everyone on their way.

But here is the thing, somewhere between getting off of the train and getting into my apartment, the span of several hours, my kindle froze. And it would not revitalize itself. I tried resetting it and even cpr. No dice. The lovely people at amazon have a new one on the way and the old one is headed back to their direction.

I missed it dearly on my morning commute.

(I know some of you are probably dying to know, No, I did not fly out of my shoes, I didn’t even hit the pavement. I have cat like reflexes.)

So I’m temporarily without a kindle. Just in time for tonight’s bookclub, the book for which resides on my kindle, which is now in the hands of UPS. I of course will not explain to my bookclub, as I’ve never met these people. This is the type of situation where one immediately becomes “The girl who got hit by a truck”, and considering I’m still trying to live down “The girl who passed out in line for a roller coaster at the amusement park” I think I’ll pass.

