Spring will be here soon. I repeat Spring WILL be here soon (that extra reassurance is for those of you who live in places where it snows and are currently buried under inches/feet of the stuff).

Spring here is certainly going to be different than what I’m used to, as is summer. Because Summer doesn’t exist here.

Summer SHOULD be high 90’s, high humidity, low energy, and very little clothing.

Summer here is cold, layers and in general winter with less rain.  If last August is any indication I will be wearing a light sweater and dreaming of my sundresses.

This lack of warm weather presents another conundrum. Usually in the summer I wear body sprays, as its too freaking hot and humid for perfume. You just end up overwhelming everyone around you. You need something lighter and less severe when it’s 101.

But that won’t happen here, so conceivably I could actually find a new summer scent. I’m a big believer in switching up scents for the seasons. I’m one of those people who are more likely to associate a smell with a memory than a sight. Certain smells are more sweaters and crisp air than flip flops and sunscreen.

So I want something that smells like summer.

My cold weather fragrances are Chanel 22 and Coco (also Chanel)

22 is a bit tricky. It takes awhile to warm up and it’s a scent that kind of grows on you (it smells best after you’ve had it on for about an hour). It isn’t all that popular and is only carried at Chanel boutiques. It’s a mixture of Jasmine, Tuberose, Ylang Ylang, and Rose.

Coco is much more popular and smells great immediately (though is less complex than 22). It’s supposed to be (according to Chanel) a mixture of Angelica, Mimosa, Frangapani and Mandarin. Yum.

I want something that smells clean, light, not too powdery and not overly sweet. I’m going to start looking.
Suggestions?

